Kawai Shiu's de stroom

with interludes by J.S. Bach and Xenakis

13.06.2010 (Sun)  4pm



One of Hong Kong's most interesting composers, Kawai Shiu is an internationally recognized artist whose interests and achievements explore the essence of music embodied as sound, composition, performance and thought. This concert features Shiu's solo cycle 'de stroom' for voice and solo strings as well as masterworks by J.S. Bach and the Greek-French composer Iannis Xenakis.


  • Iannis Xenakis: Embellie (solo viola)
  • J.S. Bach: Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001: Adagio (solo violin)
  • Kawai Shiu: de stroom:

              -In keinen wörtern singen wir (solo cello)

              -Night lay on page (solo voice)

              -No un violin (solo viola)

              -A leaf by far (solo voice)

              -La rosée fond (solo violin)

  • J.S. Bach: Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001: Presto


Performed by soloists of the Hong Kong New Music Ensemble and guest performers from Singapore, in their first collaboration:

Katherine Wallace(Soprano)

Jiang Lele(Violin)

William Lane(Viola)

Laurent Perrin(Cello)

Tickets are at $120 (standard) and $80 (concession) for the event, ticket includes one drink. For bookings and enquiries please contact Nancy Chua at 2537 0688 or email to nancychua@osagegallery.com