:: Spring Garden – Li Xinping Solo Exhibition: 10.05.2022 – 10.06.2022 

Curated by Belle Leung

Presented by Osage Gallery

“When spring came, even the false spring, there were no problems except where to be happiest... People were always the limiters of happiness except for the very few that were as good as spring itself.” ― Ernest Hemingway, A Moveable Feast (1964)

The pandemic in various places across the globe is still fluctuating, limiting social gatherings. Like a false spring, we are in a loop of hope and disappointment, relief and anxiety. Reading Hemingway’s thoughts inspires us to enjoy spring more when being alone and to find the mental space to contemplate, feel, and appreciate what is around us or find solace in art.

The exhibition Spring Garden will present 16 oil paintings, painted by Li Xinping between 2004-2015, They depict the enjoyment of Spring through scenes of leisure, music, and dance. The figures in Li’s paintings appear to be frolicking and immersed in the natural environment. It is as if whilst in the middle of the false spring, one can still almost feel the breeze, smell the fragrance of the flowers or hear the sound of swings in the wind. Li Xinping’s brushstrokes, colours, and imagination awaken our senses and prepare us for the true spring which symbolizes "a new beginning." His art provides a safe haven, a mental space "where there are no problems and where we can be the happiest."

Exhibition Period
10.5.10 - 10.06.10 

Mon-Fri 10:30am – 6:00pm
Sat 10:30am – 1:00pm
Closed on Sundays and public holidays 

Venue: Osage Gallery 4/F, 20 Hing Yip Street, Kwun Tong
Register required:




Listening Room 10 – Beyond | Schism

Venue: Osage, 4F, 20 Hing Yip St, Kwun Tong

*Due to public health situation, this event is POSTPONED until further notice. Please monitor the latest disease prevention measures and Osage's Facebook, Instagram, website for any rearrangements.

Beyond | Schism is a collection of pieces co-curated by HKNME flautist Angus Lee and clarinettist Linus Fung, exploring static and volatile states of beings, from the contemplative yet unsettling Let me die before I wake (Salvatore Sciarrino), the stoic yet evocative Kuroda-Bushi (Toshio Hosokawa), the lyrical yet perturbed Monologue (Isang Yun), to works that pushes the limits of both instruments to their physical limits (beyond by Matthias Pintscher, BUG by Bruno Mantovani, Flight by George Benjamin).


Co-organized by
Hong Kong New Music Ensemble, Osage Gallery, Sigma Projects





::Osage has our own Wechat public channel, please scan the QRcode on left hand side to follow our channel for most updated news